null Skip to main content
Tamari Sauce

Tamari Sauce

What is Tamari Sauce

Tamari soy sauce is one of the many variations of soy sauces available. Unlike many soy sauces, tamari is not made using wheat, whereas many other sauces contain at least 50% wheat. 

What is in tamari sauce?

Tamari sauce is taken from miso paste which is made up of soybeans, water, salt, koji and moromi. Like soy it is fermented, however, unlike soy sauce little if any wheat is added.

What is tamari sauce made from?

Tamari sauce is made by soaking soybeans before boiling them and allowing them to cool. A type of mold called Koji is allowed to grow on the mashed product. Natural yeast and bacteria generated through the process help the mixture to ferment and produce the sauce.Organic tamari is produced using organically grown ingredients and without introducing any synthetic pollutants or ingredients.

Tamari is a popular addition to stews, soups, stir fry dishes and dipping sauces and can be readily substituted for soy sauce in any recipe. It can also be used as a condiment for noodle dishes, fish and tofu.

What is the difference between tamari and soy sauce?

While tamari sauce and soy sauce are interchangeable, both have distinctive flavours and preferences will vary according to taste. Tamari has a darker colour and is slightly thicker. Soy sauce also can have up to 50% wheat contact whereas, tamari has very little wheat content. 

Benefits of using tamari

Besides being gluten free in most instances, tamari has many nutritious benefits.

As with many other fermented foods, tamari soy contains a healthy quantity of peptides, polysaccharides and oligosaccharides. All of these substances are good for the immune system, and digestion. Tamari is also rich in vitamins, minerals and antioxidant phenolic acids.

Tamari does not taste quite as sharp as soy sauce due to the absence of wheat and many people prefer its taste to soy sauce.

Where to buy tamari

Buy Organics Online has a wide selection of table sauce products for you to choose from. Our varied range of tamari sauces have been sourced from the most reputable tamari soy suppliers in the business. If you’ve been asking, “where can I buy tamari sauce?” The answer is clear - buy tamari sauce from Buy Organics Online and enjoy the mellow tasting healthy gluten free alternative to soy sauce.

Read More