There are very few options healthier than gluten free oats to get you up and going in the morning. Oats are a whole-grain food that are most frequently consumed at breakfast. This is usually consumed as oatmeal, which is made by boiling oats in water, milk or a milk alternative. In addition, oats are often added into muffins, health food bars, cookies and other baked foods.
Many consumers wonder whether oats are gluten free? Despite conflicting information, the short answer is No, oats are not gluten-free. Most oat products are processed alongside many products that contain gluten such as wheat, rye and barley. Therefore it is highly likely that many oat products contain traces of wheat, rye or barley due to contamination.
*Where oats are marketed as gluten-free, and uncontaminated with wheat, rye or barely they may still not be suitable for those who suffer from Coeliac disease. This is due to a protein called Avenin, and whilst they are considered naturally gluten free this protein is only safe for 95% of people with Coeliac disease. In the US, UK & Europe, oats that are labelled gluten free are considered safe for people with Coeliac disease and are classified as gluten free if they contain less than 20 milligrams of gluten per kg. Uncontaminated oats such as GF Oats are celebrated as being gluten free and a super nutritious food for people suffering with Coeliac disease in these areas. Every batch of GF Oats is tested to ensure below thresholds applied for US, UK & European standards. In Australia, different standards apply. Products with any detectable gluten cannot be called gluten free. They can be called low gluten or wheat-free.
** Those who suffer from Coeliac disease may be able to consume wheat free oats but should consult their local GP prior to consuming any products that they are concerned may contain gluten.
There are some considerable benefits that come with the consumption of gluten free oats at breakfast time. These benefits include: